Clare College Chapel
Thu 20 September
Ars Combinatoria

Sonate per il violino

Fontana, Castello & Corelli

Fontana Sonata seconda y terza
Castello Sonata prima y seconda
Corelli Sonata I y IV

Violín: Elsa Ferrer
Clave: Canco López

A tour through the golden age of Italian music from the early Baroque by the hand of the composers Giovanni Battista Fontana and Darío Castello, to a well-established baroque accompanied by Arcágelo Corelli. Through their imagination and fantasy, Fontana and Castello show us how the violin begins to take center stage replacing the "king" instrument that until then had been the voice. Little by little instrumental music, and especially the string family led by the violin, begins to shine under the wisdom and knowledge of composers such as Corelli.  He leaves a surprising mastery of the instrument in his Sonatas, his music contributing to the technical and expressive breakthroughs that the violin had in this key stage of the history of music.

Elsa Ferrer and Canco López are founding members of Ars Combinatoria where they have directed the orchestra since 1991 as well as continuing to perform concerts as a soloist and in different chamber music and orchestral programmes.

Please Note: Clare Chapel is situated in the Old Court. For this concert access will be via the side gate, and not through the main gates.


Thu 20 September at 7:00pm


60 minutes


Clare College Chapel



The Chapel is situated in Old Court.


Clare College Chapel
Clare College
Trinity Lane
Get directions


20 September 7:00pm – 8:00pm approx 7:00pm – 8:00pm approx Buy tickets